Ted Garner - Chair - Piper Jaffray & Co.
Curt Fochtmann, Immediate Past Chair - Ernst & Young, LLP
Robert S. (Bob) Lilien, Vice President - Robinson Bradshaw 
Sandi O. Thorman, CPA, Treasurer - GreerWalker
John V. Boyer, Ex Officio, President and CEO - Bechtler Museum of Modern Art 
Viviane Bechtler-Smith - Civic Leader
Matthew S. E. Benson - Meyer Greeson Paullin Benson (City Council Appointment)
Jessica Churchill - Bank of America
Keith E. Cradle - Mecklenburg County Sheriff's Office (City Council Appointment)
Jesse Cureton - Novant Health
Malcolm E. Davis - AIA, Perkins + Will
Bryan Droze - Deloitte Tax, LLP
Elizabeth Dunton Faison - Civic Leader
Selma Fox, Director and Communications Consultant at TIAA Financial Services (Mayoral Appointment)
Kevin Gottehrer - ParkerPoe
Nancy Kipnis - Foundations for the Carolinas, Foundation for the Charlotte Jewish Community
Brandon Neal - Wells Fargo Bank, NA
Mary Margaret Porter, Civic Leader
Janet M. Saura - Amazon 
Marjorie Serralles-Russell - Attorney and Independent Consultant
Anne Carter Smith - Civic Leader
Shannon Smith - PointGuard
Margaret Switzer - KPMG, LLP
Scott D. Syfert - Moore & Van Allen, PLLC 
Mary Winston - WinsCo Enterprises, Inc.
Steven K. Young - Duke Energy Corporation


Lynn J. Good, Chair - Duke EnergyCorporation
Andreas Bechtler
Thomas (Tim) M. Belk, Jr., Immediate Past Chair - Belk, Inc (retired)
Robert F. Bertges - Wells Fargo Bank, N.A. (retired) 
Thomas (Tom) M. Finke - Barings LLC
Dorlisa Flur - Southeastern Grocers
Curt Fochtmann, Board of Directors Chair - Ernst & Young, LLP
Harvey Gantt - Retired architect and former Mayor of Charlotte
Todd Gorelick - Gorelick Brothers Capital, LLC
Lucia Zapata Griffith - METRO Landmarks
Michael A. Jones - Civic Leader
Todd Mansfield - Crescent Communities
J. Michael (Mike) McGuire - Grant Thornton LLP
Bob Morgan - Charlotte Chamber of Commerce
Patricia (Patty) Morton - PRM Advisors, LLC
Sally Robinson - Civic Leader
Pat Rodgers - Rodgers Builders
Laura Schulte - Wells Fargo (retired)
Stoney D. Sellars - StoneLaural Consulting, Inc.
Jennifer Steigerwalt - Civic Leader
Robert H. Stolz - Sunbury Capital
Michael C. Tarwater - Carolinas HealthCare System (retired)
Ed Weisiger, Jr. - Carolina Tractor
Joan Zimmerman - Southern Shows, Inc.


  • Monday10am - 5pm
  • TuesdayClosed
  • Wednesday10am - 5pm
  • Thursday10am - 5pm
  • Friday10am - 5pm
  • Saturday10am - 5pm
  • Sunday12pm - 5pm


An Individual Membership with unlimited access to the Bechtler Museum of Modern Art is $50.

find out more


Charlotte is fondly referred to as the Queen City and is named after Queen Charlotte, the wife of King George III of England. It is the largest city in North Carolina and is situated halfway between Raleigh and Atlanta.

find out more

ex © 2019 Bechtler Museum of Modern Art All images and content copyright. All rights reserved. Credits: Design: MODE. Artwork Photography: JoAnn Sieburg-Baker, David Ramsey General Photography: Eric Bahrs, Mitchell Kearney, Gary O'Brien, Nancy Pierce, Maxim Vakhovskiy Copywriting: Pam Davis Charlotte Skyline Photo: courtesy of Visit Charlotte School of Paris: John Boyer (Copy), MODE (Design)
© 2019 Bechtler Museum of Modern Art | 420 South Tryon Street | Charlotte, North Carolina 28202 | 704.353.9200