Modernist Society members are some of the Bechtler Museum of Modern Art's most important supporters. Modernist Society members receive invitations to exclusive events such as exhibition openings and special dinners with art-world persona.

The Bechtler Museum of Modern Art thanks members of the Modernist Society for their loyal and generous support of museum exhibitions, programs and community outreach efforts. Details about the Modernist Society, its associated benefits, and how to join are found here.

Founding Modernists

  • Regine and Andreas Bechtler
  • Natascha Bechtler
  • Tanja Bechtler and Robert Teixeira
  • Fiona Bechtler-Levin and Scott Levin
  • Viviane Bechtler-Smith and Bill Smith
  • Dany and Tony Bucher

Modernist Leader: $10,000 - $24,999

  • Linda and Bob Bertges
  • Shannon Smith
  • Charlotte and John Wickham

Modernist Benefactor: $5,000 - $9,999

  • Citali and Fernando Aguirre
  • Caroline and Ben Dellinger
  • Jody and Bryan Droze
  • Victoria and J.P. Dunham
  • Liz and Lane Faison
  • Dorlisa and Peter Flur
  • Dale and Fred Halton
  • Kitty and Ted Garner
  • Anne and Epes Robinson
  • Janet Saura and Elizabeth Sousa
  • Anne and Robert Tolz
  • Cassandra and David Wagner
  • Lilly and Steve Young

Modernist: $2,500 - $4,999

  • Robert Barbee
  • Cindy Barnes
  • Kat Belk
  • Georgia and Bill Belk
  • Matt and Barrie Benson
  • Margaret and Smokey Bissell
  • Patty Blackburn
  • Amy and Philip Blumenthal
  • Tricia and John Boyer
  • Barbara and Twig Branch
  • Jessica and Alex Churchill
  • Shelley Rozier Colvin
  • Linda and Bill Farthing
  • Carson and Scott Fitzgerald
  • Betsy Fleming and Ed Weisiger
  • Sally and Curt Fochtmann
  • Laura and Mike Grace
  • Heidemarie and Oscar Groomes
  • Jill and Bernie Hargadon
  • Jim and Peggy Hynes
  • Pamela Freeman and Gregory Johns
  • John and Bev Lassiter
  • Barbara Laughlin
  • Nell Lawing
  • Christopher and Matt Lawing
  • Holly and Hal Levinson
  • Donna and Bob Lilien
  • Melissa and Mike McGuire
  • Michele Mohr and Alex Berrabah
  • Jennifer Neely
  • Anna and Tom Nelson
  • Hope and Mike Parrott
  • Jancy and Gilbert Patrick
  • Cyndee and Robert Patterson
  • Ellen and Joseph Piemont
  • Sally and Russ Robinson
  • Pat Rodgers
  • Vickie and Chris Rolfe
  • Terri and Bill Saint
  • Laura and Mike Schulte
  • Sherry and Tom Skains
  • Anne Carter and Dean Smith
  • Jennifer and Eric Steigerwalt
  • Margaret and John Switzer
  • Gail and Scott Syfert
  • Ann and Michael Tarwater
  • Sandi and Ben Thorman
  • Kurt Waldthausen
  • Ed and Betsy Weisiger
  • Joan Zimmerman


  • Monday10am - 5pm
  • TuesdayClosed
  • Wednesday10am - 5pm
  • Thursday10am - 5pm
  • Friday10am - 5pm
  • Saturday10am - 5pm
  • Sunday12pm - 5pm


Book a space at the Bechtler to host your next event.

find out more

ex © 2018 Bechtler Museum of Modern Art All images and content copyright. All rights reserved. Credits: Design: MODE. Artwork Photography: JoAnn Sieburg-Baker, David Ramsey General Photography: Eric Bahrs, Mitchell Kearney, Gary O'Brien, Nancy Pierce, Maxim Vakhovskiy Copywriting: Pam Davis Charlotte Skyline Photo: courtesy of Visit Charlotte School of Paris: John Boyer (Copy), MODE (Design)
© 2018 Bechtler Museum of Modern Art | 420 South Tryon Street | Charlotte, North Carolina 28202 | 704.353.9200